I've played a few games solo and have run into a situation a couple times that I want to make sure I am playing right.
I, as orange, am at 10 on the clock, and the purple Peddler player is at 11. Three boats have docked, so there is one open dock for the last boat.
I perform a 2 hour action, which puts my timepiece on the 12 spot, which is also where the Market Phase indicator is. I also pass the load the boats action in between 11 and 12.
My question is do I perform the load the boats action, and if so, where does the market phase indicator go? Which scenario is correct?
1. I passed the load the boats action, so I load the last boat with a meeple, dock the boat in the last remaining pier spot, and move the market phase indicator 1 space beyond the furthest player (in this case, 1 on the clock), allowing each player 1 more turn before the market phase begins. This would prioritize the rule on pg 6:
OR
2. Now that my time piece has landed on the market phase indicator at 12, the load the boat actions is ignored the rest of the round. I do not load any boats and the market phase indicator stays where it is, meaning my (orange) round is over and purple player gets one more turn. This would prioritize the rule also on pg 6:
Based on the fact that only one time piece had advanced to the Market Phase indicator, that leads me to believe Scenario 1 is the correct way to handle it - it was just unexpected to me that the Market Phase indicator would move forward in time and prolong the round.
Any thoughts would be appreciated!
I, as orange, am at 10 on the clock, and the purple Peddler player is at 11. Three boats have docked, so there is one open dock for the last boat.
I perform a 2 hour action, which puts my timepiece on the 12 spot, which is also where the Market Phase indicator is. I also pass the load the boats action in between 11 and 12.
My question is do I perform the load the boats action, and if so, where does the market phase indicator go? Which scenario is correct?
1. I passed the load the boats action, so I load the last boat with a meeple, dock the boat in the last remaining pier spot, and move the market phase indicator 1 space beyond the furthest player (in this case, 1 on the clock), allowing each player 1 more turn before the market phase begins. This would prioritize the rule on pg 6:
When each of the four Pier spaces are filled with a Docked Boat, the end of the round is
signaled:
▶ Place the Market Phase indicator on the Hour space that is directly after the farthest
forward Timepiece(s) on the Clock.
▶ The Load the Boats action is ignored for the remainder of the round.
signaled:
▶ Place the Market Phase indicator on the Hour space that is directly after the farthest
forward Timepiece(s) on the Clock.
▶ The Load the Boats action is ignored for the remainder of the round.
OR
2. Now that my time piece has landed on the market phase indicator at 12, the load the boat actions is ignored the rest of the round. I do not load any boats and the market phase indicator stays where it is, meaning my (orange) round is over and purple player gets one more turn. This would prioritize the rule also on pg 6:
Once all Timepieces are on top of—or beyond—the Market Phase indicator, the Production Phase ends, and
no additional turns will be taken this round.
no additional turns will be taken this round.
Based on the fact that only one time piece had advanced to the Market Phase indicator, that leads me to believe Scenario 1 is the correct way to handle it - it was just unexpected to me that the Market Phase indicator would move forward in time and prolong the round.
Any thoughts would be appreciated!