by BodhiWolff
According to the rules as written, pg.8 describes how to interrupt a "move action" to perform another action, such as attacking, aqnd then continue the rest of his movement after resolving the other action.It does not, however, describe interrupting other types of actions to do the same thing.
So, as an example, a Heroic Feat that requires one to spend an action to gain certain abilities does not necessarily constitute a "move action", and may not necessarily be legally interrupted.
As an example:
Silhouette's Heroic Feat:
"Action: move double your Speed. You may search any number of search tokens you move adjacent to during this movement without performing an action to do so"
Coupled with:
Thief Skill: Greedy:
"Action: Search a search token within 3 spaces of you" cost: 1 fatigue
So here is an example in which, according to the rules, it appears that a character who is attempting to focus their skills on searching might not be able to get two skills to work with each other.
Silhouette's Heroic Feat isn't technically a move action. Instead, it is a complex action which allows you to move your speed and snap up adjacent search tokens. Even if Silhouette had the Greedy skill, and a fatigue and action to spare, it doesn't appear that she could interrupt her heroic Feat to perform a Greedy 3-space search, then continue on her way.
I am looking for the community's general consensus here.
Do you play that *only* move actions may be interrupted, and skills/feats/abilities are self-contained?
Or do you count skills/feats/abilities that include movement points to be generalized "move actions", and therefore allow them to be interrupted with other actions?
Another example:
Disciple Skill "Time of Need"
"Action: You receive 2 movement points and recover 2 fatigue"
This appears to be a different case, because it grants the user movement points, and then the action itself is completed. The character is left, after spending an action, with 2 movement points to spend, and another action on deck. Thus, spending one movement point, and then taking an attack action, and then spending the second movement point, does not seem to violate the rules the same way that the previous example would.
I am looking to see what the general consensus on these sorts of situations is.
Any thoughts?